Common Core State Standards (CCSS)

The Michigan Department of Education has approved the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) as the set of standards for students in grades K-12 in the areas of English Language Arts and Mathematics.  This means our students will have the Common Core State Standards as the core curriculum in English and Math. Please remember that the standards represent what students will learn, not how they will learn. We want our teachers to be creative and thoughtful about how they deliver instruction to our students, but by Michigan code, we are bound to teach the standards the Michigan State Board of Education adopts - and for English Language Arts and Mathematics, it's the Common Core State Standards.

Links to the standards are listed below so you can see what the Michigan Department of Education expects our students to learn.

External LinkWhat is my child learning?

Common Core State Standards - English Language Arts

The Common Core State Standards for English Language Arts are a focus area for the district for the 2013-2014 school year. This focus includes the Literacy Standards for History/Social Studies, Science, and Technological Subjects.  (This supports the district's focus on literacy in grades K-12.)

The official website for the Common Core State Standards provides the information for which districts implementing the standards must attend.

Common Core Standards for English Language Arts and Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects.  This is the key document for the Common Core State Standards and represents what students should learn in grades K-12 in order to be college and career ready.

Appendix A:  Research Supporting Key Elements of the Standards and Glossary of Key Terms.

Appendix B: Text Exemplars and Sample Performance Tasks

Appendix C: Samples of Student Writing

Application of the Common Core Standards for English Language Learners (ELL)

Application of the Common Core Standards for Students With Disabilities (SWD)

Publisher's Criteria for the Common Core State Standards in English Language Arts and Literacy, Grades 3-12.

Common Core State Standards - Mathematics

Mathematics is one of areas for which there are Common Core State Standards.  Teachers will begin using the mathematics standards during the second semester of the 2013-2014 school year, with full implementation during the 2014-2015 school year.

External LinkStandards for Mathematical Practice
External LinkHow to Read the Grade-Level Standards


External LinkKindergarten
External LinkGrade 1
External LinkGrade 2
External LinkGrade 3
External LinkGrade 4
External LinkGrade 5

Middle School

External LinkGrade 6
External LinkGrade 7
External LinkGrade 8

High School

Number and Quantity 
External LinkAlgebra
External LinkFunctions
External LinkModeling
External LinkGeometry
External LinkStatistics and Probability

External LinkMathematics Glossary

External LinkMathematics - Appendix A

External LinkPublishers Standards for Grades K-8 Mathematics
Publishers Standards for High School mathematics